The Contraceptive pill: No thanks.

nSJymCbirth-control-pill-crazy-sex-confession-ecards-someecards

So much has been going on in my life lately; such things include moving to London and getting a new job, so blogging fell by the wayside over the last couple of months. However, on my commute back home, I started thinking about the contraceptive pill.

Until recently, I had been on the pill for a year and I decided to come off it because I was sick of the mood swings, was sick of having a permanently bloated stomach that no amount of exercise would get rid of and was just generally sick of not feeling like myself. Since the age of 18 I have tried three different pills:

Mycrogynon: Hell on earth. I became an emotional wreck and gained half a stone in two weeks.

Cilest: Moodwise I felt fine, but I literally could not stop eating on it. I’d eat my dinner and then half an hour later I’d be hungry. I also experienced overwhelming nausea and gained weight. Basically, I was pretty much pregnant except I didn’t have a foetus in my womb.

Gederal: This now has a new name because companies which make the contraceptive pill like rebranding and claiming the pill is still exactly the same (Even though they definitely aren’t). I went on this pill because I went and whinged to my Doctor about Cilest making me gain weight. This was the best of the three as I didn’t gain half my body weight overnight but for the first few weeks I was on this I was just so angry at everything and everyone, and if I wasn’t angry I was constantly on the verge of tears. However, eventually the symptoms subsided and I actually thought it was alright.

However, over the last couple of months I began seriously considering coming off it. Part of it was due to my mood swings because I’d manage to get angry over things that usually wouldn’t bother me and also because, without fail, in the few days leading up to break week (the week where you don’t take the pill) I’d burst few into tears over something.  Over the past couple of weeks I’d been more stressed than usual due to the stress of moving, changing jobs and a few other things and I had a full on meltdown and thought I was on the verge of having a nervous breakdown. I don’t blame the pill for it entirely but I definitely think pumping synthetic hormones through my body was adding fuel to the fire. I will say this about the pill though, it’s a great contraceptive because it kills almost every desire to have sex.

I came off the pill last week and it’s honestly like the fog has been cleared. I feel so much calmer and like I’m thinking clearly for the first time in a long time. I have lost half a stone within a week of being off it and my bloated stomach has gone. I’m not saying every girl feels like this on the pill, but I’d be surprised if a significant number didn’t. You are pumping synthetic hormones through your body so of course it is going to change you to some degree. I have no intention of ever going back on hormonal contraception and now I’ll be seeking non hormonal methods which don’t alter my body’s natural chemistry and raise the risk of me getting breast cancer and blood clots.If the pill works for you then great, but if it isn’t working look at trying something else whether it’s hormonal or non hormonal. I’ve realised my body is quite sensitive to hormones and I don’t see the point in being unhappy if there are alternatives out there.

Leave a Reply

