Five things you realise as you get older.

So it’s coming to the end of summer, and I still have a lot to do. I somehow managed to secure some work experience with the Guardian (still not sure how I managed to blag that one) and will be thrust into London life in a couple of weeks, which is a big thing for a girl from Yorkshire. After that I’m going straight back to Loughborough to start my last ever year in education (woohoo!) , and for the past few days I’ve been thinking about how just two years ago I was just beginning my first year and had no idea that I’d ever even have my own blog, nevermind secure work experience in London.

It reminds me of one of my favourite phrases ”Two things are certain in life 1) Everything changes 2) You will be surprised” and got me thinking about life in general and a few things I’ve realised:

1) La doleur Exqusie

This is french for ”The pain is exquisite” and it is something I heard from an episode of Sex and the city of the same name. The episode itself has one of my favourite endings to an episode of a tv programme (Youtube “Sex and the city La doleur Exqusie”) it’s beautiful. The phrase is something I believe is very true, and at first it seems to be an oxymoron because how can pain be exquisite? Pain is exquisite, though, because whenever you experience pain you are never the same person again. The change always occurs, no matter how subtle it may seem and it is irrevocable. It is growth. That’s why pain is exquisite, because even when we go through a period of pain, we are rewarded by being given the chance to grow.

2) Looking to the future puts problems into perspective.

Whenever I’m having a bad day, what I do is allow myself to curl up in a ball for fifteen minutes on my bed and feel like crap, and then I ask myself the question ”Will this affect me in six months time?”. The vast majority of the time the answer is ”No” so after that I get back up and start living again. It’s so easy to become hung up on things that aren’t that big of a deal in the long run; it often helps to remind yourself of the things you are grateful for which sounds like a bit of a cliche. I always remind myself of my family and friends, the fact that I’m at a good university doing a subject that I like, and the fact I have been allowed to do a lot of cool things like have work experience with the Guardian and being sent to the Fringe. Sure, my life isn’t perfect but it’s definitely not a bad life.

3) The vast majority of people are not inherently bad.

I think social media has made it easier for us to hate people. We can judge people on their Facebook/Twitter etc without actually knowing them. Even in real life we can encounter people who we think are awful, treat us poorly etc etc, and it is easy to create an image of them in our minds and portray them to other people as ”bad”. However, I have come to realise that such people who I have encountered in my life aren’t the devil: I’ve just seen a bad side to them. There are will be people who have encountered me who will think I’m awful or that I’ve treated them poorly, but overall I know I’m not a ”bad” person. That is one thing to remember in life, when we encounter people who hurt us intentionally or unintentionally, they are not a terrible person overall. People are a mixture of light and dark, and we simply had the misfortune of seeing a dark side to them.

4)Most of your friends are temporary

It’s sad but true. When you get older you realise that you will make many great friends in your life, but many of them will only be there for a short part of it. You’ll grow apart or their life will take them somewhere else and your friendship will never be the same again, but that’s ok. You’ll occasionally drop in on each other to see how the other is doing and you’ll reminisce about all the great memories you have and then you’ll go back to your own lives. You’ll soon come to love people to pieces, but at the same time be aware that at some point you will say goodbye to them.

5) When in doubt turn to Art.

Obviously, as an English student I am a little bit biased towards Art, but whenever I’m feeling a little disillusioned with life I turn to Art. I have the radio on all the time these days, and I feel like I’m fourteen again when I discover a new band or singer or when I’m listening to my ipod and my new favourite song comes on and I start singing along. The excitement is incredible and I’ve never believed the phrase ”Music makes the world go around” more than I do now.

Other times I get my kindle and read some of the many, many books I have on there. Doing an English degree means I never really get time to read for pleasure these days, so I’m trying to get back into the habit of doing it. Then there are the times I hop onto Twitter and look at some of the pictures posted on @fascinatingpics, @historicalpics and @Abandonedpics and it reminds me that the world really is beautiful and I still have so much to see. Art is beautiful, and it is inspiring.

2 thoughts on “Five things you realise as you get older.

Leave a Reply

