Why family is important.

If you’ve spoken to me in the past couple of months then you will know that me and 2013 have something of a rocky relationship. It managed to make me cry a mere three days in thanks to me being infected by the Norovirus which ended up with me being sick so much that I wondered if it was morning sickness and I was with child with Satan’s spawn.

Since then things have gone, for the most part, downhill, but as term ended I began to think that maybe things were looking up. Unfortunately, that’s not the case, and whilst I’m home in Sheffield, I’m not home as my Mum who has been ill on and off throughout the year has really been taken down by it, so much do that I’m now residing at my Dad’s for the foreseeable future. If 2013 and I were I a relationship, this is the point where I’d be throwing its clothes in bin liners and chucking them out of the window.

Under any other circumstances I wouldn’t be too upset, as I have a bigger room, and the bathroom is essentially mine as my Dad has ensuite, but under present circumstances I just feel worn out and weary. However, instead of a mopey post, I decided write something positive on why family is important:

1)They’ll be there for you in times of sickness

What I thought was about to come out of my mouth.

What I thought was about to come out of my mouth.


Currently, my sister is looking after my Mum, and this one of the reasons why family is so important: they are obliged to stick around even if what you have is easier to catch than a bout of chlamydia. When I was infected with the Norovirus, my Mum held my hair back whilst I sounded like I was giving birth through my mouth, and bought me some Lucozade when it became apparent I was not going to bring it up two minutes later.

2) They try and see the best in you

How far my mouth fell open (quite impressive, really).

How far my mouth fell open (quite impressive, really).


Family gatherings are usually awkward at some point, and my family is no exception. When I told my uncle that “No, I don’t smoke, and I’ve given up alcohol for Lent” he laughed and said “All you have to do is give up sex and you could be a Nun”. This resulted in my jaw hitting the floor so hard that I’m pretty sure that I must have looked like a python with its jaw unhinged. My Mum, however, simply acted as if she hadn’t heard the remark, presumably in her bid to preserve her image that I’m one of God’s right hand angels. This also applies to the time I told my parents I was off to Amsterdam for the weekend, and they asked no questions about what I was going to do there, because ignorance is bliss.

3) They encourage you

The reason why I'm not going to get a first.

The reason why I’m not going to get a first.


Admittedly, my family aren’t the type to lie to me and tell me I can be anything I want, but they do encourage me (in their own way) to try and achieve things that they think I can manage. For example, when I told my Dad that I had finished semester one with a 2.1 his reply was “Well done, but I thought we were aiming for a first?”, which is his way of saying “I think you can get a first”. Unfortunately, for my Dad, I have neither the ability or motivation to get a first, but I didn’t tell him that because I don’t want to shatter his belief system.

4) They’ll do what they can to help

How I thought I was going to be travelling home.

How I thought I was going to be travelling home.


Family are also (for the most part) obliged to help you out. For example, last year when I was moving my stuff back home for the summer, my Dad was obliged to pick me up. Upon arrival when he saw how much stuff I had hoarded over the academic year, he looked like he was going to cry or get back in his car and let me make my own way home. However, like a true Dad he helped me cram all my stuff into his car (which I’m pretty sure gave him a flat tyre) and took me home.

5) They give you some amazing memories

What I imagine my sister's face was like when the horse took off with her.

What I imagine my sister’s face was like when the horse took off with her.


From watching a horse that my sister was riding suddenly take off with her the moment my Dad let go off the reins, where I could still hear her screams long after she had disappeared from sight, to the time me and my Dad were walking through the Derbyshire hills and had to scramble over some rocks to get away from a sheep that was coming towards us at a very fast pace, my family have provided me with some memories that range from being hilarious to downright bizarre, and that’s why families are so important.

Leave a Reply

