Things that happen every Christmas.

Christmas is a time of year that you either love or hate. For some people, they count down the days until they can open their advent calender and put their Christmas playlist on full rotation as soon as December 1st hits, but for others Christmas is a time of expense and having to boycott the local shopping center because they fear they may smoother frantic shoppers with wrapping paper. However, whether you love it or hate it, there are somethings that occur every year:

1) Christmas food gets VIP treatment.

What your Mum may as well put around the cupboard.

What your Mum may as well put around the cupboard.

I’m pretty sure that as soon as December arrives, there is one cupboard and space in the freezer that suddenly becomes restricted for Christmas food, and not only that but your Mum practically seals the area off with Police Caution tape; the sound of you opening the cupboard door in the morning for a packet of porridge will see you Mum apparate quicker then Dumbledore reminding you not to touch the Christmas food (because we all want Pringles for breakfast). Food is a big part of Christmas and for some reason, as soon as December arrives, it’s no longer acceptable to eat chocolate (apart from the ones found in your advent calender) or touch a packet of crisps whose only destination is a bowl decorated in festive things which will be placed on the table which your Mum will terms as ”nibbles”.

2) Arguments.

Once we're there we clearly have a great time.

Once we’re there we clearly have a great time.

For some people, arguments occur between families. However, since all of my Dad’s family is in a different continent and my Mum’s is in a different city, this is not the case for me, but I still don’t escape the festive fights. For me, it’s my beloved second family (my friends) who give me the joyous experience of arguments. Every year we have a Christmas meal at the same restaurant, and every year there is a disagreement along the way. From what date we have the meal to where people will be sitting (I’m not joking), my friends manage to make a meal that lasts a couple of hours the most stressful part of my Christmas. However, just like Christmas day, when we all sit down for the meal all arguments are forgotten and we have a great time.

3) You go overboard.

I didn't go overboard at all.

I didn’t go overboard at all.

The festive season is basically another word for party season, and whilst I don’t go crazy at home I do find that the last week of university before the holidays is the week where I go a bit bonkers. Suddenly, I find I have the urge to go out as much as humanly possible in order to get at least one wear out of my Santa costume and to ensure I have at least one sing along to ”All I want for Christmas is you”. Luckily, I curb my partying somewhat when I go home for the holidays, but the multiple invitations (which I decline) to go on pub crawls are a reminder that Christmas is a time where people not only gorge on turkey and mince pies till they look like they are carrying triplets, but add at least ten years to their liver.

4) You have a meltdown over presents.

How you feel when you see the lines of the queues in Sainsbury's.

How you feel when you see the lines of the queues in Sainsbury’s.

Shopping for Christmas presents has to be one of the most stressful parts of the holiday season; this is not only because most people go crazy and shop as if they are stocking up for the apocalypse and not one day. However, buying Christmas presents amongst all of this chaos is hell; if you’re not worrying about what to buy, then it’s the ”How much should I spend?” question, because no matter how few people you are buying for there is always at least one person who is so difficult to buy for that you end up wanting to cancel Christmas.

5) You experience post Christmas blues.

How you feel when you realise you have two weeks of turkey sandwiches ahead of you.

How you feel when you realise you have two weeks of turkey sandwiches ahead of you.

As soon as Boxing day arrives, depression hits people. It’s not only the fact that the only thing on the menu for the foreseeable future is turkey sandwiches that makes people feel glum, but the next big event: new years eve. Now some people love New Year and they are often very vocal about it on Facebook (”2013 means a new ME!) but they are in the minority. The majority of people take time to be a little bit too realistic (”Same shit, different year”) or reflect on only the negatives (”2012 was the worst year of my life :(”). I am in camp indifferent, although I am usually a little depressed as my birthday is on the 28th, and seeing as I turn twenty this year there is a strong possibility that I may be crying into my pillow – mourning the loss of my teens. For most of us though, the end of Christmas signals the end of another year and a return to revision or work – lovely.

Leave a Reply

