Rihanna: she should be apologetic.

Rihanna-Unapologetic

I’ve been thinking about how to approach this post for a long time, and originally it was going to an album review but then it evolved into a mini rant, so I decided to make it a bit of both.

As many of you may be aware, I’ve been a fan of Rihanna. I’ve liked her since ”Rated R” which is still her best album to date from a technical perspective, and when she got the red hair and released ”Loud” I questioned my sexuality. THEN she released ”Talk That Talk” a mere year after ”Loud” and I was a bit dubious but then she released the single ”We Found Love” so I knew I was going to enjoy the album.

However, a few weeks ago Rihanna released Unapologetic which is her seventh album in seven years which I think is a bit much, but when I first found out about it I decided to remain open minded because most of the stuff she has released has been decent. However, as soon as I heard ”Diamonds” I knew it was all over; unlike many people, I don’t find ”Diamonds” inspirational – I think it’s a weak song. ”Diamonds” is a power ballad without the power, and Rihanna’s voice is very repetitive and the song is just irritating in general.

I did however, endeavor to listen to listen to ”Unapologetic” when it was released though, and there are only three songs you need to bother listening to ”Jump”, ”No Love Allowed” and ”Stay”. ”Jump” uses the chorus from Ginuwine’s 1994 song ”Pony” and has a lot of drum and bass thrown over it, which doesn’t work on paper, but in reality it’s actually pretty good and if it’s not released as a single I will be severely disappointed as it’s the best song on the album. ”No Love Allowed” sees Rihanna going back to her dancehall roots, so if you enjoyed ”Rude Boy” and ”Man Down” then this song is for you, even though it’s simply ”Man Down” inverted, but that is neither here nor there. Also, when I say listen to ”Stay”, I mean the live version, and that’s the only reason I like this song because Rihanna actually sings in tune for a change, which is something because usually she’s completely off key.

Now I’ve given you a very brief summary of the album, I have to discuss the duet with Chris Brown which is entitled ”Nobody’s Business”, and it’s one of those things you can’t ignore. I don’t listen to that song because I find it very hypocritical to say ”It’s nobody’s bussiness” when you’re tweeting pictures of each other all over Twitter; if it’s nobody’s business then keep your business of the damn record. Rihanna and Chris released ”Birthday Cake” which wasn’t exactly a wallflower of a song and I appreciated the song for what it was: a disgusting PR stunt. I’m not one of those people who is against them being back together, but I do think that when you are in the public eye you have a duty to act responsibly when it comes to having a relationship with someone who beat you. Now Rihanna may say she doesn’t want to be a role model, but that’s just tough. You’re a role model whether you like it or not; that’s just one of the cons that comes with having millions of pounds in your bank account.

Saying all that, what Unapologetic has made me realise is that I’m done with Rihanna. Yeah, she’s hot and releases some good dance songs, but I’m sick of her. She’s always on twitter acting like she’s a badass because she smokes weed, like nobody else in the world has. She’s completely trashy as well, I mean she’s always been provocative but it’s come to the point where you just want her to put some clothes on. Yes, she has a cracking body, but I think we’ve seen it enough times.

I need Rihanna to get off twitter and disappear for a couple of years. She needs to stop smoking so much because it’s destroying her vocal chords, and she could do with getting some singing lessons so she can start singing well live consistently . Like I said, I used to be a fan, and to an extent, I still am, but there’s only so much of one woman that you can take.

One thought on “Rihanna: she should be apologetic.

Leave a Reply

