Some books that ruined my life.

I love books, hence why I’m doing an English degree. However, whilst some books have undoubtedly enriched my life, there are some that have had a severe negative impact on my life, and I’m going to share them with you.

1) The Harry Potter series

What I looked like waiting for my letter from Hogwarts.

This may come as a surprise to you, but reading Harry Potter at the tender age of ten did actually ruin my life. Firstly, it made me utterly convinced that on my eleventh birthday an owl would coming flying through my window with a letter telling me that I would be accepted into Hogwarts, and when this letter failed to appear on my birthday I then spent the next seven years telling myself it had got lost in the post. Then the final film came out and I accepted the fact I was a squib and they didn’t want me.

2) Twilight

The face I pulled when reading ”Twilight”


I want to write this without being mean, but I’m not sure if I can. Basically, I read Twilight before it became popular and I didn’t like it then, and then suddenly became popular and everyone lost their minds and then I really didn’t like it. Basically, I found Bella and Edward’s relationship stomach churning and Edward Cullen made girls place these unrealistic expectations on men, just like Disney.

3) The Noughts and Cross series

The effect ”Noughts and Crosses” had on me.


This series ruined my life because it is one of the first books I can remember sobbing over. At the end of the first book I’d sat on the living room floor crying like a baby whose just had their candy snatched from their hands. If you want an idea of how depressing this book is then listen to Amy Winehouse’s album ”Black to Black” on repeat and you’ll get an idea of how depressing it is.

4) How to be a woman

The reason why your newsfeed is clogged up with my crap.


It’s no secret that the author Caitlin Moran is one of my biggest inspirations but her book on feminism ruined my life because it inspired me to start writing in my natural voice, which resulted in me becoming a blogging maniac and writing about obscure things such as phone apps that would help you survive a night out and things Britain would win at the Olympics. So if you’re fed up with seeing me spamming your newsfeed with links to my blog then take it up with her!

5) The Catcher in the Rye

The face I pull now when reading ”Catcher in the rye”


Reading Catcher in the rye” when you are thirteen is the biggest mistake you can make, because it makes you think it’s ok to be self indulgent with all your teenage angst thinking you’re unique when in reality every teen has angst. I used to love this book though, until I reread it at the age of eighteen. It’s amazing how you can go back and inspect things you used to like and just think ”I used to enjoy this!?”. Basically, The Catcher in the Rye” can only be enjoyed when you’re a melodramatic teen, and after that you just start thinking Holden should get a grip.

4 thoughts on “Some books that ruined my life.

Leave a Reply

