The Liebster Award.

Many thanks to My student struggles for the nomination! Check out her blog, it’s ace!

THE RULES

Answer the questions your nominator posed to her/his nominees
Pass the award on to others
Ask five questions for one’s nominees to answer

Questions I was asked.

What is your favourite book? Which character do you identify with most and why? I’d say my favourite book is ”The Bell Jar” by Sylia Plath which I first read during my first year at university and I’ve reread it several times since then. In terms of identifying with the characters, I used to be able to identify with Esther in how she found it difficult to live up to the expectations of society in how she should behave as a young woman. However, I read the book recently and I found it difficult to identify with Esther which I’m quite glad about as I don’t think being able to connect with a character as dark as Esther is particularly healthy!

If you could change one thing about yourself what would it be?

I do wish I was more organised, as I’m usually a whirlwind of disorganisation flying past people, but this is something I could change quite easily if I stopped being so laid back and pushed myself to put my life in order! In terms of big things like my appearance, intelligence and skills, I don’t think I’d change anything. I’m not being arrogant when I say that, because I’m far from perfect but I think it’s important to learn to accept the fundamental things that make you, you. I’ve spent many of my teen years wishing I was smarter, prettier or had bigger boobs and it’s exhausting and unhealthy! My general attitude is that if I can improve myself I will endeavour to do so, but generally I should learn to love myself, flaws and all.

Who is your hero/heroine?

My heroine is Caitlin Moran for many reasons; the first one is because she grew up in a poor working class family and she escaped the poverty by dedicating herself to writing. Also, I think her attitude as a writer is fantastic and I’ll freely admit that it’s her who inspired me to drop my old writing persona and just let my personality come through. There are some writers who write wonderful things, but their voice isn’t distinguishable, but you can spot Moran’s work a mile off because her humour and positivity shines through.

Lastly, Caitlin Moran is helping make feminism cool again. So many women are afraid of saying they are a feminist because they don’t want to be branded a man hater or have people think they are a lesbian, but Moran’s book ”How to be a woman” highlighted that being a feminist is simply about wanting women to have control of their lives and be seen as equal.

What would it take for you to make friends with an old enemy?

I think to be friends with an old enemy, sufficient time needs to have passed before a friendship can be possible. Also, I think sincere apologies need to be made before both people agree to wipe the slate clean and start again. There’s nobody I can think of whom I hate, and I try and avoid having bad blood with someone, so I try and forgive them, apologise for anything I may have done wrong and move on. Life is too short to hold grudges.

What keeps you writing when that dreaded monster known as ‘writers block’ strikes?

If writers block occurs then I usually stop writing for a while and go listen to some music or read. I find the best places to find inspiration are in things that inspire me, and this is usually in music or literature. Another thing I usually do is go for a walk, as I find wandering around by myself allows me to untangle my thoughts.

Questions I’m asking:

Congratulations! I nominated you for the Liebster Award, so what made you start blogging?

What excites you most about life?

If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live your life differently?

If you had to choose between getting your dream job or fifty million pounds, which one would you pick?

What country do you want to visit before you die, and why?

My Nominations:

livvymills.wordpress.com

http://www.waysofseeing.me

http://www.sarahelizabethstone.wordpress.com

http://www.dirtyyellowpetticoat.wordpress.com

http://www.amyelsie.wordpress.com

One thought on “The Liebster Award.

Leave a Reply

